Litomyšl Palace, a UNESCO World Heritage, was built in 1567–1581. Two successive palace theatres operated in the 18th century before the still existing one was inaugurated in 1798. Members of the noble Waldstein-Wartemberg family and their friends performed popular high comedies here for the next 50 years, for their own pleasure as well as for the local audience. The theatre has been preserved entirely, including the original stage machinery and lighting equipment.
The unique collection of stage decorations created by Josef Platzer (1751–1806), the imperial court painter who worked for theatres in Vienna and Prague, is on show on the second floor of the palace, together with rare musical instruments. The theatre is accessible as part of the guided tour of the palace rooms.
See the film of the Zámecké divadlo in Litomyšl
570 01 Litomyšl
Visits: guided tours Sat–Sun 10:00–15:00 (April & Oct) ∙ Tue–Sun 10:00–15:00 (May) ∙ Tue–Sun 10:00–16:00 (June & Sept) ∙ Tue–Sun 10:00–17:00 (July & Aug) ∙ closed Nov–March ∙ reservations compulsory for groups of more than 10 persons ∙ open for groups outside the opening hours on appointment